Getting long-term disability benefits approved can feel like relief—until a long-term disability termination letter says payments are stopping and you’re left unsure what changed. This guide explains common reasons benefits end, how ERISA rules and appeal deadlines affect what happens next, and what evidence usually matters most. ReferU.AI can help you get matched with an attorney experienced in LTD terminations so you can understand your options and respond on time.
Why do long-term disability checks stop after your claim was already approved?
The real fight often starts after approval, not at the first yes.
See what usually triggers a termination, why ERISA procedure matters, and what the notice can signal before the next move.
For more information, visit https://blog.referu.ai/legal-information-by-practice-area/erisa-long-term-disability/long-term-disability-terminations.
Need a ERISA Long Term Disability attorney? ReferU.AI: AI + 6B court records = proven attorneys for you. Experienced with your case, your opposing counsel, your judge, your venue.
#LegalAdvice #LegalHelp #ErisaLongTermDisability #LongTermDisability #DisabilityTerminations
This post is for informational purposes only. ReferU.AI is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice.
Flat vector illustration of a person at a desk reading a termination letter beside a laptop, with icons suggesting medical review, policy milestones, claim scrutiny, and suspended disability benefits.
Getting approved for long-term disability benefits can feel like the hard part is over. Then the letter arrives: benefits are ending, payments are suspended, or the insurer says the file no longer supports disability.
That turn can feel abrupt, but in many cases it follows a familiar pattern. Long-term disability carriers often revisit claims over and over, especially around policy milestones, updated medical reviews, work activity, surveillance, or a shift from an own-occupation standard to an any-occupation standard. Under federal ERISA claims rules, many employer-sponsored disability plans also have detailed notice and appeal requirements that can shape what happens next and what evidence ends up mattering most in the dispute.
In this post you’ll learn why approved benefits sometimes stop, what insurers commonly rely on, how ERISA procedures can affect the process, and why early legal guidance often becomes especially important once a termination notice is issued.
💡
Scroll to the bottom for every post in this series.
What A Long-Term Disability Termination Usually Means
A termination is different from an initial denial.
With an initial denial, the insurer says the claimant never established eligibility in the first place. With a termination, the insurer previously accepted the claim and paid benefits, then later decided that benefits were no longer payable under the policy terms. The U.S. Department of Labor has explained that when a plan requires periodic proof of continuing disability and then decides the claimant is no longer disabled, that cutoff is generally treated as an adverse benefit determination under ERISA’s claims-procedure rules, which triggers notice and review protections under 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1 and related Department of Labor guidance (DOL FAQ, DOL compliance assistance).
That matters because the termination letter is often more than a payment notice. It may become the roadmap for an appeal, and later, in many ERISA cases, part of the record a court reviews.
Why Benefits Can Stop After They Were Already Approved
Insurers rarely describe a termination as arbitrary. They usually frame it as a change in the evidence, a policy limitation, or a new interpretation of work capacity. Here are the most common reasons.
The Definition Of Disability Changed
One of the biggest triggers is a change in the policy’s definition of disability. Many group LTD policies pay benefits for an initial period if the claimant cannot perform the duties of their own occupation, then later require proof that the claimant cannot perform any occupation for which they are reasonably fitted by education, training, or experience.
That definition shift often happens around the 24-month mark, though the exact timing depends on the plan. When the standard changes, the insurer may argue that even if the person cannot return to their prior job, they can still do some other work. This is one of the most common reasons benefits that were once approved later stop.
The Insurer Says Medical Evidence No Longer Supports Ongoing Disability
Many terminations focus less on diagnosis and more on function. The insurer may accept that the claimant still has a serious condition but argue the file does not establish restrictions and limitations severe enough to prevent work under the policy definition.
The Social Security Administration uses a similar concept in continuing disability reviews: benefits generally continue unless there is strong evidence of medical improvement and ability to work, and claimants may be asked for current medical evidence during the review process (SSA professionals overview, 20 C.F.R. § 404.1590). Private LTD carriers are not bound by SSA’s exact standards, but they often conduct the same kind of “current proof” analysis.
There Was A Paper Review Or Consultant Review
A treating doctor may have supported disability for months or years, but the insurer may later hire reviewing physicians, nurses, or vocational consultants to examine the file and reach a different conclusion. Under the Department of Labor’s disability claims rules, adverse determinations in ERISA disability claims generally must include a discussion of the basis for disagreeing with disability findings by the Social Security Administration and with the views of health care professionals or vocational experts presented by the claimant or obtained for the plan (DOL fact sheet, Federal Register rule text).
In practice, that often means the insurer cites a file review, then explains why it finds that reviewer more persuasive than the treating providers.
Surveillance Or Social Media Raised Credibility Questions
Some insurers use video surveillance, online activity reviews, or third-party interviews to argue that the claimant’s observed activities are inconsistent with claimed limitations. Often the footage is short and open to interpretation. Even so, it may be used to support a broader argument that self-reported symptoms are overstated.
Vocational Review Says Other Jobs Exist
When a policy moves to an any-occupation standard, vocational evidence often becomes central. The insurer may identify jobs it says the claimant can perform based on transferable skills, physical tolerance, cognitive ability, education, and wage thresholds set out in the policy.
That can create a disconnect between real-life limitations and paper job listings. Some termination letters read as if the claimant was turned from a patient into a labor-market profile.
A Policy Limitation Or Exclusion Was Applied
Some LTD policies contain time limits for certain categories of conditions, especially mental health or “mental and nervous” conditions, and some include limitations related to self-reported symptoms, pre-existing conditions, or other exclusions. These provisions vary significantly by policy and governing law. Where they apply, benefits may stop not because the insurer says the person recovered, but because the policy says payment ends after a defined period.
The Insurer Believes The Claimant Returned To Work Or Can Work
Work activity can trigger a review even outside the private LTD context. For Social Security disability, there are detailed rules involving trial work periods, extended periods of eligibility, and substantial gainful activity. For 2026, SSA lists the monthly SGA amount at $1,690 for non-blind individuals and $2,830 for blind individuals, with a trial work period month amount of $1,210 (SSA SGA table, SSA 2026 updates, SSA work incentives page). Private LTD plans use different standards, but insurers frequently watch for part-time work, attempted work, reported earnings, job searches, or activities they believe show work capacity.
Why The Cutoff Can Feel So Sudden
To claimants, the termination often feels like it came out of nowhere. From the insurer’s side, the process may have been building for months.
A typical sequence can look like this:
The insurer requests updated attending-physician statements and records
It orders a paper review, independent exam, or vocational assessment
It compares current records to prior reports
It looks for “improvement,” inconsistency, or lack of objective support
It issues a termination letter after concluding the file no longer satisfies the policy standard
The procedural rules matter here. ERISA’s disability claims regulation sets timeframes and notice requirements for adverse determinations and appeals, including rules for what the notice has to contain and how reviews are handled (29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1, DOL regulation overview). For disability appeals, plans generally have 45 days to decide an appeal, with limited extension rules in certain circumstances (29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1).
So while the stoppage may feel abrupt, it often reflects a review process that has already taken shape inside the claim file.
Not every diagnosis creates the same kind of proof battle. But certain issues come up again and again.
Functional Limits, Not Just Labels
A diagnosis alone often does not carry the case. Insurers frequently ask whether the records explain sitting tolerance, standing limits, lifting ability, cognitive pace, attendance reliability, off-task time, hand use, driving limits, need for breaks, and symptom flare frequency.
Gaps In Treatment Or Sparse Follow-Up
A file can weaken if the insurer sees long gaps in specialty care, canceled appointments, conservative treatment, or records that simply repeat symptoms without documenting function.
Inconsistent Charting
One office note describing “stable” symptoms can be used against a claimant even when the broader record shows continuing impairment. Likewise, normal findings in one area may be used to minimize significant findings in another.
Outdated Provider Statements
Many terminations happen because the insurer requests updated forms and receives vague or incomplete responses. A short checkbox form may not explain why a person cannot sustain full-time work.
Failure To Address Other Jobs
When the standard shifts to any occupation, medical proof alone may not answer the insurer’s position. The file may also need to address whether the claimant can actually perform the jobs the insurer identifies.
ERISA Can Change The Stakes
If the LTD coverage came through work, the claim is often governed by ERISA. That changes more than many people realize.
ERISA claims rules require plans to provide a reasonable claims procedure and a full and fair review. The Department of Labor’s 2016 disability-benefit rule strengthened protections by requiring more detailed denial notices and procedural safeguards, including discussion of contrary evidence and protections against conflicts in claims administration (DOL fact sheet).
ERISA also affects what happens if the appeal is denied. In many benefit cases, the administrative appeal record becomes critically important because later litigation may focus heavily on the paper file assembled before suit. And if a plan fails to follow required disability-claims procedures, the regulations include a deemed exhaustion rule that can affect the claimant’s options (29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1, GovInfo CFR text).
Here’s what this often means in practical terms: a termination letter is not just about the missed payment. It can mark the beginning of the most important evidence-building stage in the case.
What To Look For In The Termination Letter
A termination letter often reveals the insurer’s theory. Reading it carefully can help identify where the dispute really is.
Common clues include:
a statement that the claimant no longer meets the policy definition of disability
reliance on a reviewing doctor who never treated the claimant
reference to surveillance or activity checks
an assertion that records show “improvement”
vocational findings that other occupations are available
mention of a policy limitation, such as a mental-health duration cap
references to missing records, missing forms, or noncompliance with requests
The Department of Labor’s disability claims protections aim to require meaningful explanation, not vague conclusions. If the carrier disagrees with treating providers, vocational evidence, or an SSA disability finding, the notice generally is expected to explain that disagreement rather than simply announce a result (DOL fact sheet).
Why Early Response Often Matters
Once benefits stop, time starts working against the claimant in several ways.
Medical records continue to evolve. Providers may retire or become harder to reach. Appeal deadlines can run quickly. In ERISA plans, the appeal phase may be the main chance to submit detailed evidence before litigation. And the insurer’s narrative can harden if it goes unanswered.
That is one reason many people look for legal guidance immediately after a cutoff. An attorney experienced in LTD terminations may help evaluate the policy language, identify whether ERISA applies, request the claim file, analyze the insurer’s medical and vocational support, and determine what additional proof may strengthen the record.
The strongest response to a termination is usually not just disagreement. It is targeted evidence that answers the insurer’s stated reasons.
Depending on the case, that may include:
updated treatment records
detailed physician narratives rather than brief checkbox forms
functional capacity evidence
neuropsychological testing where cognitive issues are central
medication side-effect documentation
symptom frequency and recovery-time evidence
vocational analysis addressing real job demands
statements clarifying failed work attempts or limited daily activities
responses to surveillance or selective chart excerpts
This is where many claimants discover that “my doctor says I’m disabled” is often not enough by itself. The insurer may be asking a narrower question: what documented evidence shows this person cannot reliably perform the duties of the occupations identified under the policy definition?
When Social Security Approval Does And Does Not Help
Many LTD claimants either receive Social Security disability benefits or are encouraged by the insurer to apply for them. That relationship can be complicated.
A favorable SSA decision can be useful evidence, especially where the insurer previously relied on it or financially benefited from an offset after the claimant was approved. The Department of Labor’s disability claims rule specifically highlights the insurer’s obligation to address the basis for disagreeing with an SSA disability determination in ERISA disability claim notices (DOL fact sheet).
At the same time, private LTD policies and Social Security use different standards, different records, and sometimes different timelines. SSA also conducts continuing disability reviews on its own schedule. Under SSA regulations, review frequency depends on expected medical improvement: some cases are reviewed in as little as 6 to 18 months, others at least every 3 years, and more permanent cases every 5 to 7 years (20 C.F.R. § 404.1590, SSA handbook, SSA open data on periodic CDRs).
So an SSA approval can help, but it does not always stop a private LTD termination.
Why Legal Help Often Becomes More Important After Benefits End
Long-term disability terminations are rarely just paperwork problems. They often sit at the intersection of insurance language, ERISA procedure, medicine, vocational evidence, and litigation strategy.
An attorney may help determine:
whether the policy is governed by ERISA or state law
what deadlines apply
whether the insurer’s notice appears compliant
whether the claim file includes medical or vocational reviews worth rebutting
what evidence may carry the most weight on appeal
whether procedural errors may affect the dispute
how to preserve the strongest possible record if litigation follows
In general terms, the earlier that analysis begins, the more room there may be to shape the record rather than react to it after deadlines narrow the options.
The Bottom Line
Approved long-term disability benefits can stop for many reasons, but the most common ones are familiar: a definition change, an insurer-hired medical or vocational review, alleged improvement, surveillance, work activity, or a policy limitation. What feels sudden is often the endpoint of an internal review process that has been developing inside the claim file for weeks or months.
That is why terminations often deserve close attention. The real question is usually not just why payments stopped, but what evidence and procedure now control the next stage.
Visit ReferU.AI to get matched with an attorney who has demonstrable experience in cases like yours — for free.