Own-Occupation vs Any-Occupation Explained: The Definition Shift That Changes Disability Cases
If your long-term disability claim is being questioned, the shift from own-occupation vs any-occupation can change what the insurer says you’re able to do. This guide explains how that definition change works in ERISA cases and what evidence and vocational arguments often decide whether benefits continue. ReferU.AI can help you find an attorney with experience in ERISA disability disputes and long-term disability terminations so you can respond with a clear strategy.
Your LTD claim can collapse after 24 months, even if your condition has not changed.
The biggest fight is often not your diagnosis, it is the policy's definition shift from own-occupation to any-occupation.
See why that switch becomes the turning point in ERISA disability cases, and what insurers often focus on next.
For more information, visit https://blog.referu.ai/legal-information-by-practice-area/erisa-long-term-disability/own-occupation-vs-any-occupation.
Need a ERISA Long Term Disability attorney? ReferU.AI: AI + 6B court records = proven attorneys for you. Experienced with your case, your opposing counsel, your judge, your venue.
#LegalAdvice #LegalHelp #ErisaLongTermDisability #OwnOccupation #AnyOccupation
This post is for informational purposes only. ReferU.AI is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice.
Minimal flat vector illustration of a person between their original job desk and several alternate work icons, with policy review symbols suggesting the shift from own-occupation to any-occupation disability evaluation.
Own-Occupation vs Any-Occupation Explained: The Definition Shift That Changes Disability Cases
If your long-term disability benefits were approved and then suddenly questioned, one of the most important places to look is the definition of disability in the policy or plan. Many claims begin under an own-occupation standard and later move to an any-occupation standard. That change can quietly reshape the entire case.
In practical terms, the issue is not just whether a person is sick or injured. The issue often becomes what kind of work the insurer says that person can still do, how that work is defined, and what proof is used to support that conclusion. In many ERISA-governed disability cases, that shift becomes the turning point between continued benefits and termination.
This post explains what the definition shift is, why it matters so much, what insurers often look for during the transition, and where legal disputes tend to develop. If you want a broader foundation on employer benefit disputes, this more complete guide to ERISA disability, health-plan appeals, external review, and COBRA issues may help frame the bigger picture.
💡
Scroll to the bottom for every post in this series.
What Is The Difference Between Own-Occupation And Any-Occupation?
At a high level, own-occupation usually asks whether you can perform the material duties of the occupation you were doing when disability began. Any-occupation usually asks whether you can perform some other occupation the policy considers suitable based on factors like education, training, experience, and sometimes earnings level.
Major insurers openly describe long-term disability policies as using one or both of these definitions, and sample benefit materials commonly show a structure where the plan uses an own-occupation definition for a limited period—often 24 months—and an any-occupation definition after that period ends. MetLife and Guardian both describe these as common LTD policy frameworks, and MetLife sample schedule materials show the familiar “24-month own occupation, any occupation thereafter” design in actual benefit schedules.
That sounds simple. In reality, it is where many disputes begin.
Under own-occupation, a claimant may be able to show disability by proving they cannot reliably perform the duties of their regular job as it is defined under the policy. Under any-occupation, the argument often broadens into a vocational debate about whether the claimant can perform other work in the economy, sometimes with additional questions about pay level or “gainful” employment. The exact wording varies widely from one policy to another, which is why the policy language itself often matters more than general assumptions about how disability coverage works. The Department of Labor’s claims-procedure resources also emphasize that ERISA disability claims are governed by plan terms and procedural rules, not just broad fairness concepts.
The shift matters because it changes the question being asked.
Early in the claim, the dispute may focus on whether you can still do your job. Later, the dispute may focus on whether you can do some job.
That is a dramatic change. A surgeon with a hand impairment, a trial lawyer with severe cognitive fatigue, or a construction supervisor with restrictions on standing, walking, climbing, and concentration may be unable to perform their prior occupation while still being accused of being capable of some other work. Whether that accusation holds up often depends on the policy language, the medical record, the vocational analysis, and how accurately the insurer describes both the old occupation and the proposed new one.
This is also why cases often feel confusing to claimants. The medical condition may not have improved at all. The benefits may still stop anyway because the plan’s definition changed.
In ERISA cases, that change does not happen in a vacuum. The claims process is governed by federal procedural requirements. The Department of Labor explains that disability claimants are entitled to a full and fair review, including access to relevant information and the identification of medical or vocational experts whose advice was obtained during an adverse determination. The agency also states that, before a final adverse decision on appeal, disability claimants are entitled to review and respond to new evidence or rationales developed by the plan during the appeal process. See the DOL benefit claims procedure FAQs, the DOL filing-a-claim guide, and the DOL summary of disability claims protections.
That procedural layer matters because many definition-shift disputes are not really about one dramatic medical event. They are about paperwork, vocational framing, and whether the file tells the right functional story before the cutoff arrives.
When Does The Shift Usually Happen?
A large number of group LTD policies use own-occupation language for the first 24 months of benefits and then transition to any-occupation language. That 24-month structure appears frequently in insurer descriptions and sample schedules, including MetLife’s LTD materials. Other policies use different timelines, and some use different formulations of “regular occupation,” “gainful occupation,” or “reasonable occupation.”
So the short answer is: often around the two-year mark, but not always.
The more important answer is that the change occurs when the policy says it occurs, which is why reading the exact plan documents can matter so much. Some policies define any-occupation in relation to jobs for which the person is reasonably fitted by education, training, or experience. Others add an earnings component, requiring the alternate work to provide a certain percentage of pre-disability earnings. Sources discussing LTD policy design, including the American Medical Association and widely used policy explanations from insurers and benefits materials, show how much these definitions can differ across products.
What Insurers Often Focus On During The Any-Occupation Review
When a claim approaches the any-occupation period, insurers often begin gathering evidence aimed at a broader employability question. That can include:
Updated Medical Restrictions And Limitations
The insurer may ask whether the records support specific functional limits, such as how long the claimant can sit, stand, walk, lift, use their hands, maintain pace, concentrate, interact with others, or sustain work activity over a full schedule.
That distinction is important because a diagnosis by itself often does less work in a disability file than claimants expect. A file that says “chronic pain,” “multiple sclerosis,” “long COVID,” “major depression,” or “lumbar radiculopathy” may not answer the insurer’s real question unless it also explains what the person can and cannot do, how often, and for how long.
Occupational Classification
Insurers often compare the claimant’s prior work to occupational descriptions in national databases rather than focusing only on how the job was performed for a specific employer. This can create conflict where a claimant’s real job was more demanding than the generic national description.
That issue is especially common when the insured person’s position had unusual physical, cognitive, travel, production, licensing, or stress demands that are easy to flatten into a simplified occupational title.
Transferable Skills Analysis
Under an any-occupation review, insurers often use vocational tools to argue that the claimant can shift into other work using existing education, training, or experience. These analyses may identify jobs that appear suitable on paper but do not match the claimant’s actual restrictions, age-related realities, earnings history, or cognitive endurance.
Earnings Thresholds Or Gainful Work Requirements
Many policies do not ask whether the claimant can do literally any job. They ask whether the claimant can do an occupation that is “gainful” or that meets a defined earnings percentage. Secondary sources and policy materials commonly describe thresholds such as 50%, 60%, or 80% of pre-disability earnings, although the exact percentage depends on the policy language. The recurring presence of this earnings component is discussed in sources such as the AMA overview of disability policies and policy-oriented explanations of gainful occupation standards.
Surveillance, Social Media, And Credibility Themes
Even when the core dispute is vocational, insurers sometimes build the file around alleged inconsistencies—daily activities, travel, errands, family events, online posts, or snippets of surveillance footage. Those facts may then be used to support a broader employability conclusion.
Why Vocational Evidence Becomes So Important
Own-occupation claims often live close to the claimant’s actual job duties. Any-occupation claims often turn into vocational cases.
That is because the insurer is trying to connect medical limitations to labor-market concepts: exertional level, transferable skills, cognitive demands, pace, attendance, and the availability of occupations supposedly compatible with the claimant’s profile.
Government disability systems use similar kinds of occupational analysis, even though ERISA LTD and Social Security are not the same system. The Social Security Administration’s current vocational guidance and policy references show how disability adjudication often turns on whether a person can adjust to other work, taking into account functional capacity and vocational factors. The Congressional Research Service’s 2024 background report on SSA occupational information and current SSA POMS vocational guidance illustrate how structured and technical that “other work” inquiry can become. SSA’s SSR 96-9p also explains that limitations involving sitting, standing, lifting, hand use, and mental work functions can significantly erode even sedentary occupational capacity.
That matters in LTD cases because insurers often argue that a claimant can do sedentary or light work without adequately explaining the real-world demands of sustained work. The Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Requirements Survey tracks job demands such as sitting, standing, reaching, and other physical requirements, underscoring that occupational demands are measurable and not just abstract labels.
In other words, “sedentary” does not automatically mean “easy,” and “desk job” does not automatically mean “workable.”
Common Problems In Definition-Shift Cases
Several recurring issues show up when a claim moves from own-occupation to any-occupation.
The Prior Job Gets Defined Too Generically
A claimant may have done a role with intense travel, deadlines, multi-tasking, high-level judgment, public speaking, field work, or emergency response duties. The insurer may reduce that role to a generic occupational label that ignores those demands.
The Medical File Describes Symptoms But Not Function
Doctors often document diagnoses, complaints, and treatment plans but say little about work capacity. That gap may leave room for an insurer’s reviewing doctor or vocational consultant to fill in the blanks in a way that favors termination.
The Insurer Relies On Paper Reviews
ERISA disability disputes often involve reviews by non-examining physicians or consultants who interpret the records without meeting the claimant. The Department of Labor’s disability claims rules address fairness concerns by requiring greater transparency, conflict protections, and access to expert information in disability benefit decisions. See the DOL rule summary and claims-procedure materials.
The Vocational Analysis Ignores Real Limitations
An insurer may identify jobs that seem plausible only because the analysis assumes full-time attendance, uninterrupted concentration, consistent pace, or tolerance for sitting and keyboarding that the medical evidence does not actually support.
The Transition Is Treated Like A Surprise
By the time the termination letter arrives, the administrative record may already be leaning in the insurer’s favor. In many ERISA cases, the appeal record becomes critically important because federal court review is often shaped by the record created during the claim and appeal process. The Department of Labor’s claimant guides repeatedly stress the importance of the plan’s claims and appeal procedures and the claimant’s right to submit evidence during review.
If the disability coverage comes through an employer plan, ERISA may shape nearly everything about the dispute: deadlines, appeal rights, what evidence gets considered, and how a later lawsuit is reviewed.
The Department of Labor’s claims-procedure regulation for ERISA plans sets minimum standards for disability claims handling, including timing requirements, denial notice requirements, disclosure of relevant documents, and protections tied to new evidence and expert input. Those federal rules are summarized in the DOL’s claims regulation page, the benefit claims FAQs, and the claim-filing guide for health and disability benefits.
In practical terms, an ERISA definition-shift case often becomes a battle over the administrative record: medical support, vocational evidence, treating-provider opinions, consistency, and rebuttal of insurer experts. That is one reason experienced legal help is often discussed early in serious benefit disputes. An attorney familiar with ERISA LTD litigation may be able to assess not only the medical issues, but also the procedural posture, plan language, expert evidence, and what still can be added to the file before it hardens.
What Claimants And Families Often Overlook
People living through a disability claim are often focused on treatment, finances, and survival. That is understandable. But several parts of the definition shift are easy to underestimate:
The policy language may be narrower than expected
The insurer may be building an any-occupation record months before the cutoff
A treating doctor’s chart notes may not translate into usable work restrictions
Sedentary work can still be inconsistent with pain, fatigue, migraine symptoms, cognitive slowing, or the inability to sustain attendance
The appeal may be the last practical chance to fully answer the insurer’s vocational theory
These issues are also why seemingly small mistakes can become expensive later. If you want a focused checklist of where claims often go off track, this roundup of avoidable errors during the definition change highlights the most common problems.
Why The Right Attorney Fit Matters In These Cases
Not every disability dispute is really about the same thing. Some cases revolve around medical proof. Some turn on ERISA procedure. Some are won or lost on vocational evidence. Some involve all three.
That is why attorney fit can matter so much. A lawyer who regularly handles definition-shift disputes may look at different questions than a general practitioner: How does the plan define regular occupation? Does the any-occupation language include a gainful earnings component? Was the claimant’s job classified correctly? Did the insurer disclose the vocational evidence it relied on? Did the appeal meaningfully rebut the insurer’s labor-market assumptions? Did the claimant get the chance to respond to new rationale before the final decision?
Those are not just technical details. They often shape whether a termination is challenged effectively.
The Bottom Line
The move from own-occupation to any-occupation is not a minor wording update. It is often the point where a long-term disability claim changes from “Can this person still do their job?” to “Can the insurer say this person can do some other job instead?”
That definition shift can affect the medical evidence that matters, the vocational evidence the insurer develops, the timing of document requests, the content of the administrative appeal, and the strength of any future ERISA lawsuit. For many claimants, it is the moment when legal guidance becomes especially valuable because the dispute stops being only about diagnosis and starts becoming a structured argument about work capacity, occupational proof, and the paper record.
Visit ReferU.AI to get matched with an attorney who has demonstrable experience in cases like yours — for free.